Election commission submits polls results to king

Election Commission of Bhutan has formally submitted the list of 47 winners of the country’s second national elections to King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck.

According to the legal proceedings, the King will invite the winning party after 10 days from the announcement of results, to form the next government. The 10 days of recession is called ‘petition period’ in which the contestants can file complaints if they are not happy with the outcome of the results.

The commission is also scheduled to issue certificates to the winners on July 19.

People’s Democratic Party has secured two-third majority in the parliament and its leader Tshering Tobgay is certain to become the second democratically elected prime minister of Bhutan.

Other possible cabinets members include Rinzin Dorji (Home and Cultural Affairs), Chimi Dorji (Health), D. N. Dhungyel (Economic Affairs), Dorji Choden (Work and Human Settlement), Lekey Dorji (Information and Communication), Norbu Wangchuk (Finance), Yeshey Dorji (Agriculture and Forests), Damcho Dorji (Foreign Affairs), Yogesh Tamang (Labour and Human Resources) and Mingbo Drukpa (Education).

Dorji Choden, who deserted her party Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa to join PDP after the primary round is likely to become the first female minister of the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *