PM Tobgay receives invite to attend Modi oath ceremony

PDP president Tshering Tobgay
PDP president Tshering Tobgay

Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay has received invitation from the government of India to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured unprecedented victory in recent election and elected Modi to be the 15th prime minister of India.

The swearing-in ceremony is scheduled for Monday (26 May) where government heads from all SAARC nations, including the rival Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaj Sharif, are invited.

Thimphu government has not confirmed whether PM Tobgay will be attending the ceremony.

Meanwhile, Hindustan Times reports Bhutan could be represented either by King Jigme Khesar Namgyal Wangchuk or PM Tobgay, though there are no reports that BJP and the Indian government sent any invitations to King Jigme Khesar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *