King appoints constitutional post holders

New constitutional post holders Bhutan appointed by King Jigme Khesar
New constitutional post holders Bhutan appointed by King Jigme Khesar

Bhutan King Jigme Khesar Namgyal Wangchuk has appointed conditional post holders, for the first time in his reign, at the joint recommendation of the Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, the Chief Justice of Bhutan Sonam Tobgye, the Speaker Jigme Zangpo, the Chairperson of the National Council Dr Sonam Kinga and the Leader of the Opposition Party Dr Pema Gyamtsho.

Former Royal Civil Service Commissioner Kinley Yangzom has been appointed as new chairperson of the Anti-Corruption Commission.

The former royal appointee to the National Council, Karma Damcho Nidup and former Deputy Auditor General Jamtsho have been named as new Commissioners of the Anti-Corruption Commission.

Similarly, Election Commission of Bhutan’s former Commissioner Chogyal Dago Rigzin who is now the Chief Election Commissioner. Commissioner Deki Pema has been reappointed while former Chief Executive Officer of the National Housing Development Corporation, Ugyen Chewang, is appointed as the other Commissioner for the Election Commission.

Tshering Kezang, the former chief district officer of Pema Gatshel has now been appointed as the new Auditor General of the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *